Driving the Struggle Bus to Woesville

So once again I want to blog about #thestruggle. Not because I find it better than any other topic, or because I truly have some understanding of it. I mean, after all, the entire set of my problems exists as a subset of #firstworldproblems.

Nonetheless, I shall bitch from behind my magic light box in my temperature controlled living space because I think there is a lesson in this particular complaint:

  I don’t have enough time for the things I enjoy.

To me this is a serious issue. I have truly found that I love taking pictures and while I am super stoked that I have been recently moved up at my work and am getting full time (along with that sweet full time paycheck), I am often a little saddened by how much I don’t get to go out and do the things I enjoy, or even worse, do them with the people I enjoy being around.

I think one of those important life lessons I am beginning to understand, even though I’ve been saying it for years is: Work to live, don’t live to work.

Of course, that is much easier said than done. One of the most important things in my life is my daughter, who lo and behold requires things. Food, clothing, schooling, etc. All of which cost money, which requires I work as much as I can to ensure she gets the things she needs. Of course, I am perfectly OK with this. My complaint I suppose isn’t with having responsibilities or being a parent, but rather, why can’t I have 27 hour days, or why can’t I make $240/hour without having to kill myself at that job? Can’t I have an easy going work and time? Why must they be mutually exclusive? I know part of it is me still needing to hone my skill set into something that is worth more, which takes time. As such I rarely complain about my job. I love my job. It’s easy, they pay me well for the work I do, and I enjoy being around the people I work with. Sadly, the company just can’t afford to pay me 16 times my current wage for the work I do and so I must slave on.

What’s the point of this? Nothing I suppose. Or maybe this, if you can live comfortably where you are in life and have a good amount of free time; don’t trade that time for extra money. The money won’t do anything for you the time can’t. And the time is much more valuable.

With that being said, I’m going out to wander and take some more pictures. If I get any good ones I’ll put em on Flickr later. Thanks for reading.

-D

P.S. I suppose being a photography blog I should post a picture or something. So here’s one from our trip home of “The Church on the Plains”

https://www.flickr.com/photos/earthquakephotography/14484484474/

Leave a Reply

