[Insert Motivational Slogan Here]

So all week, my wife and I had discussed going out tonight to find a place with little to no light pollution so I can try to take some pictures of the milky way. Sadly, even though it’s been clear all week with no signs of weather, it has become exceptionally cloudy and is supposed to rain all night. Short of driving three and a half hours away, there isn’t a feasible option for me to get to try that tonight. It’s really a bummer.

So why am I blogging about this? Well today is a valuable lesson in disappointment. It’s also a lesson in opportunity. I haven’t really gotten a chance to photograph rain, or rainy landscapes as of yet, so I can instead try to do some of that tonight. It will also give me a chance to try and utilize background lighting for night time photography (as I’ll likely be shooting from the safety of my doorway), which is something else I’ve read about a lot but haven’t tried yet.

I guess the important thing to remember, and it’s something I’ve found myself doing a lot more since I moved from New Mexico, is to always find a positive in any given situation. Just because the conditions aren’t optimal doesn’t mean they aren’t any good.

On another bright note (pun may or may not be intended depending on whether you think it’s funny or not) tomorrow is the 4th of July, which means I get to try my hand at photographing fireworks. It’s been my goal since I bought my camera a few months ago to constantly test myself and my patience in order to learn how to do this well. In order to do that I planned on shooting as many different things at as many varying times of day, with as many different lighting conditions as I can manage. My hope is that one day I will have the skill set to shoot anytime, anywhere and still be able to take excellent photos. I mean after all, life is a journey right?

Of course the alternative way of seeing that is:

Success is a journey, not a destination. So stop running.

From Despair.com Go see all their brilliant things and buy them.

 

Thanks for reading,

-D

Leave a Reply

