Post work shoot

I got out of work a little early today and decided to go and take some pictures. Since I didn’t have a ton of time before having to pick up the kiddo from school, I opted to hit the little duck pond near my house called Beus Pond. It’s really a rather pretty little park with a nice sized pond for the ducks and those who enjoy fishing. Next to it is a pair of fields: one with a small playground and a baseball batting area, the other just a wide open swatch of green grass. We take the kiddo there regularly as it’s nestled in a newer (but still rather established) neighborhood and is usually populated by pretty friendly folks.

Anyhoo, I got what I felt was a nice shot of the pond right before sunset and I spent a little time just watching the ducks play and fight.

Beus Pond

Flying Duck

Water Landing

The more I get out and take pictures, the more I enjoy it. I gotta say it is really nice to have such a hobby where I have an excuse to get outdoors and walk and take in the sights. When I used to invest all my time in gaming back in college I would have never considered going for a hike or hanging out at a park. I’m certainly glad those days are behind me even if I do periodically miss them.

In other news, I’m hoping to be getting some new gear as soon as I can find a place that sells it anyways. I’ve been wanting a new lens, and it seems from the reviews I’ve read Bower’s makes a pretty solid 18mm fixed with a 1.8 f-stop. The best part is it’s actually a quality lens and it’s only $300. Hot dog! So hopefully in the next couple months I’ll have that up and can get some even nice landscape shots to put up. In the meantime, I shall continue to slave at my work and save my pennies.

Thanks for reading and see ya next time.

-D

Leave a Reply

