An Afternoon at Willard Bay

It took a little longer to get the photos I took processed, but I ended up with a few pretty good shots from Tuesday. Since I’ve been going to the Morgan area lately for most of my excursions, I decided to try and head in a different direction for this one. So Tuesday rolled around and I opted to go north towards Logan, UT instead.

I have to say I was a little disappointed due to the over abundance of smog filling the valley. It’s one of the more unfortunate things here in the Salt Lake area. We basically live in a valley with very little air that pushes through and of course the city of Salt Lake thought it would be a good idea to have an absurd amount of factory based industry. So in addition to Hong Kong like air quality, it periodically makes for terrible photo taking too. However, once I got to a small town called Hyrum, I was at a high enough elevation that I could get a couple of shots of the frozen “Hyrum Lake”.

Hyrum Lake

Hyrum Lake 2 (no tree)

I think what drew me to these is that they looked fairly painting-esque (probably due to the smog) and even after post processing still continue to have that feel for me. So I think these are keepers.

That being said, on the way home I noticed a cool little beach called Willard Bay, which is on the north side of the Great Salt Lake. I got there about thirty minutes before sunset and decided I’d try to see what I could get. It turns out I was able to get a few things I was pretty happy with. The first is one of those generic stock sunset photos, which looks pretty good. The other is one of a single tree that with the lighting from the sunset looked pretty nice.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/earthquakephotography/16039388318

Sunset Trees

All in all I thought it was a good day for photo taking. I have Monday and Tuesday off again, so I’ll try to get out and see what else I can come up with. Till next time, thanks for reading!
-D

Leave a Reply

