Easter Sunday Photo Exstravaganza!

For most people, Easter Sunday is a day spent doing church related stuff. For us however, it’s just happens to be a day in which no one has work or school and we can spend the whole day playing and goofing off. This year I took the kiddo to the nearby park/duck pond so she could run rampant and burn off some of that seemingly infinite four-year-old energy. While we walked around the duck pond so she could feed the various birds available, I managed to follow behind with camera in hand and catch some pretty good shots. During the feeding portion I got one of this seagull snatching a piece of bread out of the air that was intended for his other water-fowl friends:

Catching Bread

Once the snacks were gone we sat and watched the ducks and I managed to catch a few shots of ducks either taking off or mid flight which came out really well:

https://www.flickr.com/photos/earthquakephotography/16861139050

https://www.flickr.com/photos/earthquakephotography/16426232254

Of course I had a few that didn’t. Part of the reason for these ones, was because I was testing out “shooting from the hip” so to speak. The reason behind this was due to a great little e-book I got to read by photographer Michael Sweet titled “The Street Photography Bible” in which he discussed the method as a way to catch some great candid shots without alerting people to the fact you’re taking their picture. My train of thought was if I wanted to try it, why not use the ducks and work my way up. Much like he wrote in his book, 9 out of 10 times your images will be off center, blurry, or flat out worthless, but that ONE will be absolute magic (paraphrased by me of course). So here’s a couple of the garbage ones for your viewing pleasure:

DSC02736

DSC02737

Now that I’ve uploaded and shared them, I have to say as a side note, I don’t actually hate them all that much. While they aren’t technically very good photos, they also aren’t complete crap either.

After the stroll we played on the jungle gym for a while and decided to call it a day. On our way back to the car, I noticed among the lack of greenery there happened to be a single tree fully in bloom. I stopped and snapped a few pics of them and headed home. Lo’ and behold some of those came out pretty well too!

https://www.flickr.com/photos/earthquakephotography/16860894628

Pink Flowers bloom

All in all it was a successful day. Both in that I had a great day off work with the kiddo and caught a some great photos to add in to the library as well.

On a final note, I have an interview/presentation for a local gallery about getting my work posted on their wall for sale at the end of this month. I am both nervous and excited to see how this goes so send your positive vibes my way please! And as always, until next time, thanks for reading!
-D

Leave a Reply

