Street Photography & The Armenian Day of Remembrance

For those who are curious, every April 24th here in the Salt Lake valley, a group of Armenian protesters crowd around the front of the federal building in Salt Lake City for a day of marching and education to the public. The issue at hand? A genocide that occurred in 1915 by the then Ottoman Empire. You can read more about it here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Armenian_Genocide

So what does this have to do with photography? Well, a buddy of mine and I were heading into Salt Lake to explore some abandoned buildings and get some photos in general. Turns out as we exited the parking garage we saw this happening across the street and decided to see what was up. We got the chance to talk to a few people and I figured this would be a great opportunity to try out “shooting from the hip” as a way to catch more real moments without alerting people to the camera. All in all it went, well … okay. I was a few inches to feet off on most of the photos and others were exceptionally blurry. However I did get a few decent ones:

Heated Debate

Wanting to go Home

Flag Kid

I have for the most part been on the fence about how I feel when it comes to shooting children in public spaces. I feel there is such a strict set of guidelines that should be adhered to that it would make it mostly worthless to bother. Part of the reason for that is that images of children can be exploited, which is something that happens far too much and I’d rather not add to it. This isn’t to say that if you have a picture of a kid and it is powerful (such as the one with it’s arms up in surrender) you ought to avoid using them. Those do a lot to open a dialogue and get people thinking more about the world we live in and what we are leaving for our future generations.

With the photos above (obviously there seems to be a conflict in my statement about kids) I felt these were alright to post. I’m a little on the fence about the kid by himself as I don’t know that the image is powerful enough to warrant a kid picture. The other one I think is fine as he is with a parent and you can see a genuine happiness in both of them. I find these cases to be worthwhile as happy, touching moments aren’t always easily captured in public places, so you should catch them anytime you can. I’d be interested to hear your thoughts though. Leave me a comment and let me know where you fall on the discussion.

I’ll be putting together a gallery of my urban exploration and a few posts on that over the next day or so as I have a few hundred images to weed through. I am excited to get back at it, as after my excursion on Friday I caught a wicked cold and was out of commission yesterday. Well, that’s it for now, thanks again for reading and till next time!
-D

Leave a Reply

