Photography Is For The Birds!

This last weekend I got to get out and do some more shooting around Ogden and make a stop I’ve been meaning too for a month or so now. Now that we’re full on into Autumn and approaching Winter, the birds are on the move, and luckily for me, they have a pretty large pit-stop on their southern travels. So I grabbed the kiddo and the cameras and headed out to the Bear River Migratory Bird Refuge.

While the actual bird populace was pretty lacking at first, I was able to get a few decent shots of Bear River, and dink around in the fields with the kiddo which was nice. It also turns out, that apparently hunting of all things is allowed in the area. This is both the primary cause of the lack of bird signs, as well as one of the dumbest things I’ve ever witnessed in my life. Something about allowing people to shoot at stuff inside of a refuge is what one might call mind-blowing. Nonetheless, I did end up with a couple pictures on my way out of a massive swarm of Red-Winged Blackbirds on their trip down south from Oregon. So all in all it was a decent visit. I plan on sometime later this month getting out and attempting a full day from pre-dawn to sunset in hopes to get some of the more rare varieties that stop by.

As always, here’s the pics:

https://www.flickr.com/photos/earthquakephotography/22862090626

https://www.flickr.com/photos/earthquakephotography/22862136726

https://www.flickr.com/photos/earthquakephotography/22469762477

As an aside, this was a fairly well needed excursion as earlier in the day my buddy Collin and I got up at a time I did not previously know existed (5 A.M.) to try and get up to the top of Farmington Canyon to catch the sunrise. Unfortunately, due to a light snow earlier in the week and generally cold temperatures, the road near the top was frozen solid and our lack of chains/AWD prevented up from getting to the top. Next time we’ll be more prepared and snag em, so be on the lookout for those!

I did however, manage to capture a pretty nice panorama of the sunrise hitting the backside of the Wasatch Mountains and put this together:

Wasatch Pano

I think I may have gone a little bananas in Lightroom when playing with colors, but at the end of the day, the gold and purple remind me a lot of the Rockies of Northern New Mexico, which are some pretty sweet mountains, so I think I’ll let it ride.

On a final note, words cannot describe how excited I am for the kiddo to get a little bigger so she can hold up a DSLR and really go shoot with me. She has a real eye for photography. Every time I roll through the SD card on her little point and shoot, there’s always a plethora of selfies, and at least two or three insanely cool perspective shots. For example, here’s one unedited she took from Bear River:

DSCN0244

And just in case you want a LR edited version this is what you get using my preset:

https://www.flickr.com/photos/earthquakephotography/22541168057

The lighting and composition in this picture are just nutty good. And while she’s only 5 and it’s more likely than not an accident, I’m still proud of the photos she pumps out. I like to believe that no matter how much she ignores me when it comes to homework or eating her vegetables, she’s paying attention when I talk shop with her.

Well that’s it for this one. As always: Until next time, Thanks for reading!
-D

4 thoughts on “Photography Is For The Birds!

Leave a Reply

