Meet the New Year, Same as the Old Year

What can I say about 2015? Well I could say quite a bit, but that’s actually for my next post. While this last year has been great it’s the upcoming year I am substantially more excited for. Much like this time last year it’s time to post some overly specific resolutions I have absolutely no ability or drive to meet and then wait 365 days so that I may wistfully reflect on them and make new ones. Auld Lang Syne indeed.

But before I get too far ahead of myself, and begin spewing forth the list for this coming year, I wanted to pull up my list form last year and see how I did. Let’s begin!

1) Take an award winning photo
2) Sell my Work
3) Get into Sports Photography
4) Have a real website

Well then … Where to start? Aside from the top of the list (yuck yuck), I suppose the best place to start is to find a dark corner and silently weep. Once I’m done there, I can come back and see what went so horribly wrong.

Not so surprisingly I only managed to finish one of these goals last year. And very much to my surprise it came in the form of #1. Right about the beginning of December this year, I got a message and an e-mail from Viewbug, which is the site I enter all my photography contests on, that I had won an award for one of my photos from January. This one in fact:

https://www.flickr.com/photos/earthquakephotography/15595333723

I happened to win “Staff Winter Selection 2015”. I’m not entirely sure what that means or what I won, but I’ll take it. Scratch #1 off the list.

Regarding #2, I haven’t yet sold any prints, but I have put a lot of work into doing and I think there is much more to be done. However, towards the end of this last year, I have seen somewhat of a shift in my goals here. Instead of just trying to sell my work to anyone who’ll buy it (which I’ll still happily do), I’m now more focused on creating work that pertains to a long term projects instead of one-shot images. I think this year may be better suited for selling my work though. Since investing in all the things I needed last year to set up a booth for various art festivals, this year I can focus on actually going to said festivals.

For #3, somewhere along the line last year, this stopped being a priority for me. Not sure why, it is still something that interests me, just not nearly as much as other things at this time. I am wanting to learn a little bit from every genre of photography so that when I find my true niche I can apply everything else I’ve learned and hopefully find a truly interesting and enjoyable voice for my work.

As for #4, I actually explored this option a few times last year, but in the end decided not to spend the money at that time. Mostly because I didn’t have the scratch people were asking for. Instead, I opted to keep the blog alive and focus on a site sometime down the road when I can just do it myself.

This brings us to 2016. While I was only 1 of 4 on my goals last year, I am by no means actually bummed or discouraged. I learned and grew a lot in my picture taking and I am more driven than ever to succeed. On that note, here’s my goals for this year:

1) Learn two new styles of Photography.
I happen to work with both a concert photographer and a fashion photographer. So I’ve made it a goal to spend some time working with both of these gentlemen and absorbing as much information as I can. I also plan on trying some more of Eric Kim’s advice which is “Buy books, not gear.” and see what i can learn from that as well.

2) Start a photography club.
I may be overly optimistic or sociable, but I love the idea of getting all the photographers I know together to drink coffee and/or booze and take pictures of stuff. I participated in an instagram meet-up last year and it was a total blast getting to meet a whole slew of local photogs. It’s something I think I’d like to do every month this year.

3) Do a model based photo shoot.
I’ve met over the last year a couple of people who are pretty familiar with studio style photography and it’s something I’ve really wanted to try my hand at. Every time I find myself day-dreaming about starting a new photography project they usually involve models of some sort. What kind you might ask … Well, all kinds really. I have a few ideas in mind as of now, but I’ll save those for another time. If you’re reading this however and are interested in participating in a model shoot, be sure to leave a comment or hit me up on one of my networks so I can provide you with the details.

4) Post more.

All-in-all I am ready for 2016 to be a great year. And better yet since this was a lot of reading comparable to my other posts. So here’s my first photo of the year, taken at Antelope Island on New Year’s day:

Antelope Island

Until next time, Thanks for reading!
-D

Leave a Reply

