Denver Trip Part 1: Downtown Denver

Last weekend my Wife and I took a trip to Denver to celebrate our anniversary and drop off the kiddo with her grandparents. Prior to this trip during the planning stage of locating a hotel and finding the fun tourist-y stuff we wanted to do I also set out to build a list of photos I’d like to take. Those included (but weren’t limited too): Patterns, Architecture, some Street shots, and especially I wanted to detour on the way back for some landscape photos.

Over the course of the weekend I managed to knock out all of the different types I was shooting for, some with better results than others obviously. But, I did get at least one fun shot in each category so that worked out well overall.

For this post I’ll cover the street side of things and try to spread out the massive amount of photos I took into a few posts.

While we were in town we stuck mainly to the downtown area as there was quite a bit of stuff happening over the weekend and being centralized would let us get to it all. Saturday night was primarily finding food (as we had driven in that morning) and some form of entertainment as it would be night number one without the kiddo. We settled on food at the Paramount and music at Jazz @ Jack’s. The jazz place was pretty sweet and the food was alright. I’d forgotten how much of a beating getting drinks at a bar was.

Once we got some sleep and a recharge, we set out Sunday to explore the city and see what I could take photo wise. Here’s what I caught:

https://www.flickr.com/photos/earthquakephotography/27307208052

https://www.flickr.com/photos/earthquakephotography/27307207682

https://www.flickr.com/photos/earthquakephotography/27307206562

https://www.flickr.com/photos/earthquakephotography/27307207032

One of the better things about downtown big cities on the weekend is all the street performers out trying to make some extra cash. Much like here in Ogden, Denver’s main drag is line with fun painted pianos for everyday folk to play and they were definitely getting used. Some by college kids, other by the homeless, but everyone I walked by seemed to know what they were doing, which was cool.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/earthquakephotography/26798515313

Of course, I can’t go anywhere without picking up some kind of art thing. I really should join a group or something. Luckily for me, there was a phenomenal spray paint artist who was making some crazy cool stuff. When I spoke to the guy with her about buying something, he gave me an offer I couldn’t refuse and I ended up buying a couple of things.

So that’s it for the street portion of this excursion. I’ll post the next installment here in the next couple of days. As always, thanks for reading!
-D

Leave a Reply

