Denver Trip part 2: Buildings and Patterns

As I mentioned in the last post, I really wanted to try my hand at shooting things I don’t normally when I go out. So with this trip and some pre-planning, I found a few antiquated buildings I thought would be perfect to try my hand at the architecture side of things. What I ended up shooting was very little on the “super old church” side of things (although there are a couple of shots of them) and more on the new flashy skyscraper side. The endeavor proved fruitful I suppose as not only did I get some pretty sweet photos, I managed to teach myself a thing or two about composition. I am trying to be less of a “spray and pray” photographer and be a little more fastidious when shooting photos. What it has done for me is let me get better composed shots, and cuts WAY down on the amount of time I have to post process something.

With that all being said, here’s some cool buildings and their subsequent accouterments:

_DSC8862

_DSC8860

_DSC8909

_DSC8847

_DSC8900

_DSC8788

Clearly I have a thing for towers and clocks. I’m sure there is something meant by this in the writings of Freud; Nonetheless, here are the non-clock/non-tower accouterments I mentioned previously:

_DSC8896

_DSC8937

The second shot there was one on my checklist (neon sign) and I was really hoping to do it in Black and White, but that posed two problems, 1) When converting to monochrome in Lightroom, a ton of the detail in the sign vanished making the letters harder to distinguish; and 2) it didn’t have the feeling I wanted it too. So I left it in color and I think it came out alright.

For the second half of this post I wanted to cover the patterns side of the trip. With these I don’t think they came out quite as well as the building half of things, but it is an interesting style of photography and one that I may focus on more in the future as a means of learning new ways to compose images. Here’s some patterns I found interesting:

_DSC8710

_DSC8831

_DSC8744

_DSC8731

_DSC8738

What I like about the last two shots of this grouping is their history. These were taken in a Methodist church in downtown that was build in the mid 1800s. And minus a few electrical fixtures here and there, it is largely the same building according to the pastor (who was kind enough to give my wife and I an impromptu tour). The seats are from right before the turn of the century and the mechanism by which they open and close is as ornate as it is Goldburg-ian. The organ, which is from the 1870s still works to this day and is used in every Sunday service. It was truly a magnificent piece of work.

Well that’s all for this one, I hope you enjoyed reading along and be sure to check back in next time when I post my third and final installment on the Denver series about our trip back. As always, untill next time –Thanks for reading!
-D

Leave a Reply

