Utah Forgotten: Thistle, Utah

So it’s been a little over a month since my last post. Which I apologize for, but sometimes life has a way of getting between us and our passions. Between mine and my wife’s work, weekends have been pretty scarce. This weekend however, I got to make a short trip to snap some photos and I opted to check out the ghost town of Thistle, UT.

The first thing I noticed as I entered the area Google maps said I should be in, is that there were quite a few new homes in the area. By new of course, I mean within the last few years. If your interested in the History of why this ghost town came to be, you can check out the wiki here. The tl;dr version of it is a large scale landslide in 1983 caused the town to have to be evacuated before it was completely flooded out. If you drive out there nowadays you’ll see some fairly nice ranch homes and new structures juxtaposed to the rubble of a town that once was. Luckily for me, that rubble is a thing and I got some cool things to take photos of! Here’s a few shots I managed:

DSC01400

DSC01454

DSC01430

DSC01412

There were a couple other buildings in the area I wanted to explore, but we had left late in the afternoon, and so we were running out of daylight. I’ll hopefully get to make another trip out before too long. On the bright side, on the way back home, I was in a good position to catch some serious cloud action during sunset and got this one:

DSC01492

It was nice to get out and explore again. It’s something I need to make sure I do for myself, as I have a lot of high hopes and a laundry list of photo projects I want to do, but those all require I actually get out and shoot some. Next week should be promising as we’re making another long drive down to New Mexico, so I may have to force myself to pull the car over and snap some pictures if an opportunity presents itself. Keep your fingers crossed for me!

As always, until next time – Thanks for reading!
-D

Leave a Reply

