Bulls and Horses and Cowboys – Oh My!

It’s been a long time since I’ve been able to get out and shoot with some purpose, but Friday and Saturday presented some excellent options. To frame this though, a little backstory:

My daughter came home on Thursday with a paper from her school saying they were giving away free tickets to the Rodeo on the 17th and 18th. Being it was the 16th, I figured this had been lost in a shuffle of papers but nonetheless agreed we could go. I tried making a few calls on Friday morning to see how one would secure such tickets, but it turns out her school was closed for the administrators for some reason or another. Now, being in a spot of having told my daughter we’d go and not having the tickets, I was super pleased to find out that the rodeo is surprisingly inexpensive. So I opted to just buy em and call it a day.

I’ve been to a rodeo once or twice before in the past, as it was something my mother quite enjoyed watching. So whenever we’d travel from New Mexico, to St George, Utah to visit her and my sister, we’d walk across the street and watch the bull-riding through the chain link fence. With that in mind, as we got closer to go time I got quite excited given I have some familiarity with these things, I knew what I was looking for now that I had a camera.

Due to the mediocre lighting inside the arena, I wasn’t able to get any real shots of the bull riding portion, but I was able to catch the bronco riding a little later in the evening. Of the some number of shots I took during that here’s the ones I am most happy with:

DSC03546

DSC03534

DSC03486

I opted to edit the last one in a little different fashion than I normally do as I wanted to really push the idea that the cowboy in question was out cold at the end of that fall. I titled it “No More Pain, Only Dreams Now” and had a good chuckle to myself.

Unlike a lot of people I don’t tend to have a lot of sympathy for the riders when they get nailed. Given the way the animals are treated to entice the bucking for the show, I find it to be a perfect case of comeuppance when a cowboy gets dropped on his head or kicked in the gut. Maybe next time, you’ll think twice about climbing on top of a 2 ton animal whose balls you just put in a vice and prodded. Checkmate.

Saturday morning brought another great opportunity in the form of the “World Championship Chariot Races”. Needless to say, you don’t have to tell me twice when presenting me an option to watch some live-action Ben Hur. Sadly, there was very little multi-carriage collision action, as the races were run more like a drag race, than “Nascar with horses”. Even still, it was a great time, and I happened to get a few more shots I was happy with:

DSC03653

DSC03621

DSC03577

Aside from those most excellent festivities, I was also able to go on a photo-walk with the awesome #ogdenwide group, and shoot a concert a couple of my work friends are in that night. I’ll do a write up about those for another day, as this one has likely gotten long enough. As always, until next time –Thanks for reading!
-D

One thought on “Bulls and Horses and Cowboys – Oh My!

  1. Pingback: Bulls and Horses and Cowboys – Oh My! « joebuchel

Leave a Reply

